Reviews

Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

2018-02-23 10.06.58 1.jpg

Release Date: 31st July 2014

Genre: Fantasy & Young Adult

Read:  March 2018

Rating: ★★★★.5

I have finally picked up a series that has been on my TBR for such a long time! Ever since I have read Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom I have been meaning to pick this trilogy up but whenever people compared the two series by Leigh Bardugo, they kept saying that this trilogy wasn’t as good. That’s probably why I kept putting it off but let me tell you I am very happy I have picked it up as it was fabulous! I did enjoy the first half more than the second half as I absolutely adored reading about courts and the political aspect of a fantasy world/novel. The second half was slightly less exciting or should I say fast-paced, but apart from that there are great characters, the plot was intriguing, I definitely want to pick up the next two books soon. I do have to say though, that I am not the biggest fan of the love triangle (not a spoiler) but I am a huge fan of the Darkling, especially in the first half 😉

Brief Description:
The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.

So I loved the beginning so much as it was very fast paced and even though we found out a lot of information in a short amount of time I felt like it was executed so well that you didn’t feel like it was overwhelming. Plus, as there was a lot going on at the beginning I feel like that was what enticed me to continue reading the story as I needed to know what was going to happen next. Furthermore, whenever I think about the Grisha trilogy I instantly think about the Darkling as anyone who has read this book always goes on about him. They either love him or hate him, and I have to be honest with you guys, I fall under the category of loving him. There is just something dark and mysterious about him that instantly draws me towards but I have to say, I was a little bit wounded when something happened with him about halfway through the book and in the second half we didn’t get to see too much of him. I am actually tempted to pick up the rest of the series as soon as possible just to see what Leigh Bardugo makes of his character next.

Speaking of the main character, Alina Starkov, I really like her as a protagonist. She resembles me closely as in her character’s traits and not the situations she finds herself in. I really enjoyed reading about her character growth as she finds what she is and what her ‘destiny’ is. I am not sure how I feel about the love triangle that is going on but I guess I will figure out my feelings about it as I continue on with the trilogy. I loved nearly all the other characters that appeared in this novel as they all had a purpose and made the story entertaining to read.  The plot itself was enticing and as I mentioned before, very fast-paced so I ended up flying through the book.

It isn’t as great as the Six of Crows duology as that series includes an amazing cast of characters but I am still very happy I picked it up (FINALLY!) and will be continuing on with the trilogy as I am really excited about how it all will wrap up in the end.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s